Murrayfield Rink Claims 2019 Sellar Trophy

Congratulations to Team Gibb, the winners of the 2019 Sellar Trophy!

This ladies event was a two-section Schenkel, with the top two rinks in each section qualifying for the High Road. The third and fourth rinks in each section qualify for the Low Road.

After two days of play, the low road final featured Elizabeth Sharp (Murrayfield) vs. Ann-Maree Davidson (Perth). Davidson’s squad started strong and had 7 points already on the board at the end of the second. Despite a strong showing in the sixth, Sharp’s team couldn’t climb back from the early deficit. The final score was 12 to 5 in favour of the visitors.

The high road final featured a rematch between the undefeated Team Robertson from Kelso versus Murrayfield’s Team Gibb. The two had previously met in the schenkel round, with Margaret Robertson taking the initial match handily. In the rematch, the tables turned. Despite the Kelso rink taking a 4 in the third, Betty Gibb’s home team steadily added points to reach a final score of 9 to 4.

This year’s event took place on January 22-24.

2019 Sellar Trophy High Road Winners Margaret Nicol, Kirsty Galloway, Rowena Steven, and Betty Gibb (Murrayfield)

2019 Sellar Trophy High Road Runners Up A. McAulay, C. McLain, Margaret Robertson, and Wendy Henderson (Kelso)

Low Road Winners Ann-Maree Davidson, Liz Paul, Margaret Cairns, and Anne Hewitt (Perth), pictured with ECC Vice President John Hogarth

Low Road Runners Up Elizabeth Sharp, Jude White, Margaret White, and Carol Flemming (Murrayfield)


No Replies to "Murrayfield Rink Claims 2019 Sellar Trophy"

    Got something to say?

    Some html is OK